Mark Van Wyk Image
Van Wyk
Head Coach - 7th Season
Phone: 641-660-9153

Mark Van Wyk is in his seventh season as head bowling coach.

Van Wyk, who came to William Penn as an assistant coach, has guided the Statesmen to national prominence.  The men's team, which has reached sectionals six times, advanced to nationals for the first time in 2013 and placed fifth.

A four-time Midwest Collegiate Conference Men's Coach of the Year, Van Wyk led the men's squad to the inaugural league championship in 2011 and then again had WPU at the top in 2014.  His players have earned 12 all-Midwest Collegiate Conference, four MCC Player of the Year, and eight All-America awards.  He also helped Sean Rangel to an individual national runner-up finish in 2010.

Van Wyk is also currently the manager and pro shop owner of Mahaska Bowl and Recreation in Oskaloosa.  In addition to the day-to-day operations of the center, he also organizations events, performs daily maintenance on the pinsetters, and formulates lane oil patterns.  He is a certified ball driller and ball layout specialist and also offers on-lane coaching and video analysis.

A life-long bowler, he brings tremendous experience to the lanes with 89 300 games and 70 800 series.  Van Wyk has also claimed three Iowa State Bowling Association State titles and is the state record-holder with a nine-game score of 2,384.

The youngest member of the Oskaloosa USBC Hall of Fame, Van Wyk has certificates in Kegel Lane Maintenance and from the Brunswick Pinsetter School.

2016-17 Men's Bowling Roster
Roster for 2016-17 Men's Bowling Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.Wt.HometownPrevious School
Cody AdairSR  Salt Lake City, UtahTaylorsville HS
Quincy BruceJR  Cedar Rapids, IowaCedar Rapids Washington HS
Braxton CobleSO  Ottumwa, IowaOttumwa HS
David DeckerFR  Peyton, Colo.Thomas B. Doherty HS
Josh FaneFR  Brownsville, Wis.UW-Fond du Lac
Jason ForsythSO  Weatherford, TexasWeatherford HS
Stian HoffSR  Orkanger, NorwayOrkdal Vidaregaaande Skole
Ryan HowardSR  King, N.C.West Stokes HS
Bret KeimigJR  Davenport, IowaIowa Central CC
Josh KraghFR  Minot, N.D.Minot HS
Curtis MajkaJR  Elgin, Ill.Elgin HS
Logan MasonSO  Knoxville, IowaKnoxville HS
Alex MittererFR  Oskaloosa, IowaOskaloosa HS
Lucas PerdieuSR  DeWitt, IowaCentral Clinton HS
Ryan RacimoSR  Olympia, Wash.Capital HS
Kyle ReeseSR  Chicago, Ill.St. Francis De Sales HS
Rylie ReidelJR  Columbia, IowaKnoxville HS
Nick WalkerSO  Zeeland, Mich.Zeeland West HS
Mark Van Wyk Image
Head Coach
7th season
Breanne Underwood Image
Assistant Coach
4th season
Conan Mackey Image
Volunteer Assistant Coach
1st season